Skip to main content

AHS Counseling Department

Counseling Updates during school closure

 

Cabrillo College Dual Enrollment for Summer 2020/Fall 2020-NEW

Students planning to take a course at Cabrillo College this summer or in the fall, please click the Handbook link below for directions. All forms are online and do NOT require a live signature, please follow the directions. Please do not go to AHS campus. 

Cabrillo Handbook Link HERE

Cabrillo Dual Enrollment Orientation 

 

school counselors

Counselors are assigned by student's last name, all grades 9-12

A - Fo =  Mrs. Kristin Fox             831-854-7082          kristin_fox@pvusd.net (Department Chair)

Fr - Mc = Ms. Elva Martin             831-750-3001         elva_martin@pvusd.net

Me - Pl = Mrs Maureen Brandi*  831-607-9181        maureen_brandi@pvusd.net

Po - Z =   Mrs. Kristen Barrett    831-607-9957           Kristen_barrett@pvusd.net

Benjamin Slyder                           831-728-7843         benjamin_slyder@pvusd.net (Assistant Principal)

*Me-Pl counselor is part-time

Wellness Center

Socio-Emotional Counselor = Ms. Christina Souza          831-531-8142        christina_souza@pvusd.net

Quick link to Student/Family Resources here

College & Career Center

CTE Counselor = Ms. Sandi Solis-Maldonado    831-245-3511   sandi_solis@pvusd.net* 

Scholarship Counselor = Ms. Nicole Morasca  831-508-8733     nicole_morasca@pvusd.net*

Migrant Teacher = Mr. Oswaldo Contreras      831-406-1568     oswaldo_contreras@pvusd.net*

College Facilitator, Lead = Mr. Mario Castillo   831-461-4766     mario_castillo@pvusd.net 

College Facilitator = Ms. Anahi Alcibar              831-706-7581      anahi_alcibar@pvusd.net

*Part-time at AHS

appointments

Q: How do students and parents/guardians make an appointment with a student's counselor?
A: During the school closure, email your counselor with your questions. If you would like a phone call via Google Voice, please email the counselor first and leave your contact number. 

Department Overview

The professional practice of the AHS Counseling Department reflects Aptos High School's Goals. Information for students and families is provided by classroom presentations, student conferences, evening events, and more. Aptos High School Counselors collaborate with students and families with focus and intention to support student success and well-being. 

Aptos High School - School Goals

  • Goal 1: Increase the percentage of students who graduate college and career ready.
  • Goal 2: Provide students with Common Core State Standards-aligned instruction and assessments.
  • Goal 3: Maintain a safe educational and social-emotional environment that fosters a caring community where students feel connected to and supported by peers and adults.

AHS Counseling Department Vision Statement

Aptos High School students will achieve academic, career, and personal goals, to make positive contributions to the community and the global society. 

AHS Counseling Department Mission Statement

The school counseling program at Aptos High School empowers all students to achieve their highest potential, prepared to meet their college and career goals to make positive contributions to the community and the global society. The school counseling team delivers a comprehensive, data-driven program for all students to gain the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary for academic success, career exploration, and personal development. The school counseling department partners with other educators and stakeholders to advocate for equity, access, and success for all students. 

Aptos High School Counseling Program Basics

  • Develop courses of study based on student post-high school goals with an emphasis on college and career.
  • Monitor progress toward graduation and provide intervention meetings for students and families as needed.
  • Assistance and advocacy with college and career exploration, planning, applications and financial aid using Naviance.