Skip to main content

Counseling Department

school counselors

Counselors are assigned by student's last name, all grades 9-12

A - Fo =   Ms. Kristen Barrett        x5280      kristen_barrett@pvusd.net (Substitute for Mrs. Fox)

Fr - Mc = Ms. Elva Martin              x 5283      elva_martin@pvusd.net

Me - Pl = Mrs. Maureen Brandi   x5285       maureen_brandi@pvusd.net (Part-Time)

Po - Z =   Ms. Lisa Kellert              x5144        lisa_kellert@pvusd.net (Department Chair)

Wellness Center

Socio-Emotional Counselor = Mrs. Christina Souza          x5106        christina_souza@pvusd.net

College & Career Center

CTE Counselor = Ms. Sandi Maldonado             x2615    sandi_maldonado@pvusd.net (Part-Time)

Scholarship Counselor = Ms. Nicole Morasca  x5186     nicole_morasca@pvusd.net (Part-Time)

Migrant Teacher = Mr. Oswaldo Contreras       x5276    oswaldo_contreras@pvusd.net (Part-Time)

College Facilitator = Mr. Mario Castillo              x5110     mario_castillo@pvusd.net (ACCESS Lead)

College Facilitator = Ms. Anahi Alcibar               x5110     anahi_alcibar@pvusd.net

appointments

Q: How do parents/guardians make an appointment with a student's counselor?
A: Call or email (preferred method) the counselor directly to set up an appointment. Counselors are available to meet in person or via phone with parents/guardians and students together. Please avoid drop-ins, appointments are preferred and will get preference.

Department Overview

The professional practice of the AHS Counseling Department reflects Aptos High School's Goals. Information for students and families is provided by classroom presentations, student conferences, evening events, and more. Aptos High School Counselors collaborate with students and families with focus and intention to support student success and well-being. 

Aptos High School - School Goals

  • Goal 1: Increase the percentage of students who graduate college and career ready.
  • Goal 2: Provide students with Common Core State Standards-aligned instruction and assessments.
  • Goal 3: Maintain a safe educational and social-emotional environment that fosters a caring community where students feel connected to and supported by peers and adults.

AHS Counseling Department Vision Statement

Aptos High School students will achieve academic, career, and personal goals, to make positive contributions to the community and the global society. 

AHS Counseling Department Mission Statement

The school counseling program at Aptos High School empowers all students to achieve their highest potential, prepared to meet their college and career goals to make positive contributions to the community and the global society. The school counseling team delivers a comprehensive, data-driven program for all students to gain the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary for academic success, career exploration, and personal development. The school counseling department partners with other educators and stakeholders to advocate for equity, access, and success for all students. 

Aptos High School Counseling Program Basics

  • Develop courses of study based on student post-high school goals with an emphasis on college and career.
  • Monitor progress toward graduation and provide intervention meetings for students and families as needed.
  • Assistance and advocacy with college and career exploration, planning, applications and financial aid using Naviance.